More Scooterin’ for your health

Did you know that having two wheels in Barcelona rules? Because it does. Every stoplight consists of a race between you and rest of the scooters to get off the line first. Turns are taken at full tilt.  Turn signals are not used when changing lanes because lanes don’t matter. It’s mayhem but with a kind of understanding between the cars and motos. Essentially, it’s this: if a scooter can squeeze past/between/through to get in front of a cars bumper, it has the right of way.

So I have been scootering around town, to the beach, to the mountains, to meet friends, to the gym (yeah yeah, I usually walk there – I don’t want to hear it), giving friends rides, etc. Susanna and I went to Tibidabo again and hiked around. The next day I woke up early and rode up to the top of Monjuic. (I won’t bore you with more tourist photos but there is some crazy castle there I knew nothing about, and I finally saw just how big a port Barcelona has. Impressive.)

And finally, any of my activities involving traveling just wouldn’t be complete without getting lost. Oh this is a big part of my scootering escapes. I even schedule it in to every single trip on the scooter.  If you know me relatively well, then you already have witnessed my internal GPS isn’t merely broken, it never worked in the first place. I evidently have the power to bend time and space, because I could be tasked with traveling in a straight line from A to B and I will end up past the entire alphabet. Some call it a gift.

So anyway. Scootering = fun…but of course it is not nearly enough. I am really desperate to ride on the track or in the dirt. Somewhere without all the cars, where I can concentrate on riding alone. *If* I stay here (which means finding a job I can do from here) I would like to buy a track or offroad bike. I have a couple places I could store a bike, and a few people who could transport it with a van or trailer (I want kudos for this, this is no small feat).  I also do not need to register or insure a track/dirt bike.  My life will feel more complete and I suppose I will feel more like myself. So many problems solved, with just one bike.

Now, only need to know where I will be getting money to buy this all in one solution to my problems.

3 thoughts on “More Scooterin’ for your health

  1. “I evidently have the power to bend time and space, because I could be tasked with traveling in a straight line from A to B and I will end up past the entire alphabet. Some call it a gift.”

    No wonder you always let me lead, even though I sometimes lead us into oncoming traffic. 🙂 I have a map of every city I’ve spent any real time in in my head. Although I did managed to get lost on the way home from school Thursday night, but did not manage to bend time and space. That would have been far more interesting.

Leave a Reply

